The Energy Division


Located in the Trinity Business Center in Country Road, St. Michael, the Energy Division was established in 1978, in the Ministry of Trade, on the advice of technical assistance experts from the Overseas Development Administration of the U.K.

Since 1978, the Division has expanded into an organization responsible for oil and gas, alternative energy and energy conservation (having amalgamated with the Energy Conservation Unit). The Division also provides geological and earth science services to other Government departments, as well as to the private sector.

The Division is charged with the mandate of monitoring petroleum price movements; liaising with the CARICOM Secretariat and OLADE on regional energy issues; preparing Cabinet Papers, briefs, speeches, position papers and comments on energy, geological and earth science-related matters; so that the functioning of an efficient, reliable sector may be ensured.

The Energy Division is comprised of an Administrative Unit, the Legal & Regulatory Unit, the Natural Resources Department, the Renewable Energy & Energy Conservation Unit and the Research & Planning Unit. The Division is also responsible for monitoring the Barbados National Oil Company Ltd. (the agency responsible for exploration, production and procurement of oil and gas); the Barbados National Terminal Company Ltd. (which is responsible for the terminalling and storage of oil products and crude oil); and the National Petroleum Corporation (which distributes the gas produced by BNOCL).

Our Focus

The vision for the energy sector in Barbados places emphasis on principles, policies and strategies which encourage development, but recognise the strengths, weaknesses and opportunities which characterize the Barbadian economy. It is for this reason, that environmental sustainability assumes major significance in the Division’s programmes.